Marriage Licenses

Application Process

Both the bride and groom need to be present during office hours to complete the Marriage License Application. If one party cannot be present, he or she must complete a marriage license application before a notary public prior to the application at the office. The ceremony may take place anywhere within the State of Colorado. The license is valid for 35 days, including the date of issuance, If any license to marry is not used within thirty-five days it is void and shall be returned to the county clerk and recorder for cancellation per C.R.S. 14-2-107. The bride and groom are not required to be Colorado residents to apply for a marriage license unless it's a "proxy marriage". One person must be a resident of Colorado for a "proxy marriage" C.R.S. 14-2-106(2)(a).

For applicants who have been previously married, be prepared to supply the date, place, and court, if divorced. Widows/widowers will need to furnish the date and place of death of their spouse.

Locations for Application
Meeker Office
555 Main Street
P.O. Box 1067
Meeker, CO 81641

Phone: 970-878-9460

8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Rangely Office
209 E. Main St., Suite 101
Rangely, CO 81648

Phone: 970-878-9465

8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


  • $30 application fee.
  • Both parties to the marriage must be of age (18 years old).
    If the bride or groom are 16 or 17 years old, the consent of both parents or the parent having sole legal custody is required (with documentation). A court order is required in addition to parental consent. Individuals under 16 years of age are not allowed to get a marriage license in the State of Colorado.
  • If you would like a copy of this law, HB19-1316, signed May 13, 2019, please contact the Rio Blanco County Clerk's office and we will send one at no charge.
  • Legal identification is required.
    Valid Driver's License or ID, Passport, or certified copy of birth record.
  • No blood test is required.
  • Restrictions:
Couples may not apply for a marriage license while still married to another person. Divorces must be final before application is made.

Marriages between ancestor and descendant, brother and sister, uncle and niece, or aunt and nephew, whether the relationship is by half or whole blood, is prohibited. Cousins are permitted to marry in the State of Colorado.

One person must be a resident of Colorado if the couple intends to have a "proxy marriage".  See C.R.S. 14-2-109(2)(a) for details.

Marriage Ceremonies

Persons in Colorado authorized by law to solemnize a marriage are: judges, retired judges, magistrates, Indian tribe officials, clergy, and the bride and groom. Clergy do not need to be registered in Colorado and may be from out-of-state.

Although couples may solemnize their own marriage, friends, or relatives cannot solemnize the marriage. Friends and relatives may participate in the ceremony, but may not pronounce the couple husband and wife. Couples may solemnize their marriage in the County Clerk's Offices after completion of the application or at any ceremony location and time of their choice.

Completing & Returning the Marriage License

Complete the bottom portion of the marriage license including county, date of marriage, place of ceremony, and signature lines. The person solemnizing the marriage must sign and indicate his/her official title. If solemnized by the bride and groom, both must sign the line for the person(s) solemnizing the marriage and indicate bride and groom on the official title line. The bride and groom must also sign on the lines for the bride and groom in the lower right hand corner. The person solemnizing the marriage is responsible to return the license to the issuing County Clerk's Office within 63 days of the ceremony per C.R.S. 14-2-109. Witnesses are not required by law. There is no age requirement for a witness.

Certified Copies of the Marriage License

The marriage license is recorded in the county where issued. The original certificate is mailed to the return address indicated on the marriage license, generally within 1-2 working days. The cost for a certified copy of the marriage license is $1.25.

Marriage License Records

Marriage licenses are public information. Only marriage licenses issued by Rio Blanco County are recorded in the county records. Ceremonies may take place in Rio Blanco County with the license recorded in another Colorado county.